i like the way

excerpts from rupi kaur’s “milk and honey”

A.B. Godfreed
2 min readAug 10, 2022
photograph by A.B. Godfreed

it’s your voice
i don’t want to be friends
your voice
alone

drives me

nothing is safer
than the sound of you
build me into your life

lie me down
lay me open like a map
the rest of your life

if you are not enough for yourself
unknowingly and everywhere
abandon the thing you want to keep

you must be kindest

don’t mistake
salt for sugar
your mouth has the gift of reading
my tongue is sour

how can our love die
even after the hurt
that’s the
thing about love

***

This piece is composed solely out of phrases taken randomly from rupi kaur’s (2015) “milk and honey.” This is another gem of a book, purchased from Vidya Bookstore in Accra, in 2018. More recently, I have also thoroughly enjoyed reading kaur’s (2017) collection, “the sun and her flowers”.

--

--

A.B. Godfreed

Non-Entity with a clear purpose to transform self (& perhaps the world) through critical consciousness and Love.